Sucre

16 Dec

Over Thanksgiving I ventured solo to Sucre, Bolivia to take four days of Spanish classes and relax in the “most beautiful city in Bolivia.” Sucre is an old colonial city–an UNESCO world heritage site, in fact–located about 9,000 feet above sea level. It’s clean, the weather is perfect, and the Spanish spoken there is super easy to understand compared to the less than awesome accent in Santa Cruz. It was a really nice place to spend a few days, and an excellent place to learn a little more Spanish. 

This was easily the most unexpected thing I saw in Sucre: A tribute to Krusty the Clown. I know the Bolivians love The Simpsons, but Sucre is a pretty traditional town; you don’t see a ton of Western influence here like you do in Santa Cruz.

Image

I spent my mornings drinking coffee and studying Spanish at the Mirador Cafe. This little restaurant was about a 15 minute uphill trek from my hostal and provided stunning views of the city. Muy tranquilo. 

Image

The plaza just behind the Mirador:

Image

Fenix, the Spanish school I attended, went above and beyond my expectations. For 40 Bolivianos an hour (less than 7 dollars), I had one-on-one lessons with an amazing instructor. One night, the school set up an outing for its students to go to a performance put on my a local dance school. The dancers weren’t very talented, and the show ended up dragging on for nearly three hours, but whatever. It was still pretty cool to see if not for the costumes alone.

Image

Here the dancers are performing a traditional dance from the department of Santa Cruz. Go Cambas!

Image

After spending roughly three days in Sucre alone, it was a pleasant surprise to get a phone call from my German friend Ben from Santa Cruz saying he was in Sucre for work. Travelling alone has its pros, but it can get a little lonely at times. It was nice to see a friendly face!

Image

And here’s a picture of the street my hostel was on…

Image

…and here’s the courtyard of my hostel. It was a charming little place to stay in such a charming little city.Image

Sorry this blog post is sorta boring and uninspired. I’m tired. And my mind is elsewhere, because tomorrow I’M GOING TO ECUADOR FOR FOUR WEEKS!!!! WOOHOO!!!

One Response to “Sucre”

  1. Cathy December 29, 2011 at 01:02 #

    Katie, you are so adventurous. It is great to see pictures of places you are staying and things you are seeing. And the Krusty hamburgers – classic.

Leave a Reply

